Leadership: Deans Office

The School’s administration is under the office of the Dean. The Dean is overseeing the entire Schools activities. According to the University of Dar es Salaam Charter, 2007, the Dean is the head of academic and administration in the School. Specifically, Dean is responsible to;

The Current Dean

Prof Hamudi I Majamba


Prof Majamba 3

The current Dean serving for the second triennium from 2018-2021 is Professor Hamudi Ismail Majamba. Hamudi Ismail Majamba is an Associate Professor of Law specialising in Natural Resources and Environmental Law. He joined the School (then Faculty of Law) in 1994. He has a Bachelor of Laws Degree (LL. B-1992) (Hons.) [First Class], University of Dar-es-Salaam; 1992, Master of Laws (LL. M-1994) Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada; Certificate in American Law and Legal English, University of Delaware, Delaware, 1996 and Doctor of Philosophy Degree (Ph. D-1999), Northeastern University, Boston. Professor Majamba has been an Advocate of the High Court of Tanzania, Notary Public and Commissioner for Oaths since 1996. He is a member of Tanganyika Law Society and the East Africa Law Society; Bar Associations for Tanzania mainland and East African Countries, respectively.

Before this position, Prof Majamba held several administrative positions within the University. He was an Associate Dean (Academic), Faculty of Law, 2002-2006; Deputy Director, Directorate of Postgraduate Studies, 2009 to 2012 and head of Department of Private Law, 2012 – 2015. His other engagements include being Deputy Editor, East African Law Journal; Member, Editorial Committee, Dar-es-Salaam University Press; Board Member, Eastern Africa Law Review, Faculty of Law; Member: University of Dar-es-Salaam Technical Sub-Committee on HIV/AIDS, 2009; Board Member: Faculty of Law 1988 – to date; Board Member, Graduate School, University of Dar-es-Salaam 2002 – 2012; UDASA Representative, Staff Disciplinary Appeals Committee 2009 to date; Vice Chairperson, University of Dar-es-Salaam Academic Staff Assembly (UDASA) (2008) and Coordinator, Law School of Tanzania, 2009 to 2012.

Professor Majamba’s outstanding contribution to the Tanzanian legal profession, and specifically on the environmental and natural resources sector, has seen him engaged in a lot of national and international assignments of strategic importance. For example, between 2013-2015, he was a member of the expert panel of the Tanzania Natural Resource Charter Programme. Since May 2015, he is a member of the Tanzanian’ Government Negotiating Team on Oil and Gas. Professor Majamba has also served as a Board Member, Ministerial Advisory Board of Tanzania Forest Services of the United Republic of Tanzania between 2011-2014. He has also been a Trustee of the Eastern Arc Mountains Conservation Endowment Fund Tender Board from 2011-2015.

Professor Majamba’s contribution to higher education within and outside Tanzania is exceptional. For instance, he has been a visiting lecturer in various academic institutions such as International Development Law Institute, Rome, Italy (2001) and University of Bayreuth, Germany, Institute of African Studies and Faculty of Law, Business Administration and Economics (2011). He has acted as an external examiner to different universities including Mzumbe University, Faculty of Law, 2000 – 2002; the Open University of Tanzania, Faculty of Law, 2001 -2003; Makerere University Faculty of Law, 2004 – 2012; University of Nairobi Faculty of Law, 2005-2010; Sokoine University of Agriculture, 2011 and St. Augustine University of Tanzania, 2012. Professor Majamba has also acted as a resource person and trainer to numerous national and international seminars and conferences.

Past Deans

Below is the list of our former Deans;

1. Prof. Arthur Brian Weston 1961 - 1968
2. Prof. Y. Ghai 1968 – 1970
3. D. Bishota                  1970
4. Justice P.L.V. Cross 1970 – 1974
5. Prof. J.L. Kanywanyi 1974 – 1979
6. Prof. G.M. Fimbo 1979 – 1982
7. Prof. Costas Mahalu 1985 – 1991
8. Prof. Zebron S. Gondwe 1994 – 1997
9. Dr Wilbert B. L. Kapinga 1998
10. Dr Sengondo E. A. Mvungi 1998 – 2003
11. Prof. Ibrahim H. Juma 2003 – 2006
12. Prof.  Sifuni E.Mchome 2006 – 2009
13. Prof. P.J. Kabudi 2009 – 2012
14. Prof. B.I. Rutinwa 2012 - 2015

Associate Dean

Dr Sostenes Francis Materu

Sosteness Francis Materu is a lecturer at the Department of Economic Law. He joined the School (then Faculty of Law) in 2009. Before this appointment, Dr Materu worked as an Assistant Tax Consultant at PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) from August 2008 to September 2009. Dr Materu has a Bachelor of Laws Degree (LL. B (Hons)-2008) from University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania; Master of Laws Degree (LL.M (Summa Cum Laude)-2011) from University of the Western Cape, South Africa; and a Doctor of Laws Degree (Dr. Iuris (Summa Cum Laude-2014) from Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany. In 2016, Dr Materu received a Postgraduate Diploma in Legal Practice from the Law School of Tanzania, thereby becoming an Advocate of the High Court of Tanzania, Notary Public and Commissioner for Oaths. He is a member of the Tanganyika Law Society. Dr Materu’s areas of interests are international criminal law, transitional justice, international humanitarian law and anti-money laundering law.

Administration Office

Administrative officers assist the Dean in running the day to day activities of the School. Currently, the School has two senior Administrative officers.

Ms Consolatha Lyimo

Consolatha Lyimo

Consolatha William Lyimo is a Senior Administrative Officer I at the School. Before joining the University, she was working at Arusha Municipal Council. She joined the School in February 2007. Working under the Dean’s office, Mrs Lyimo is the head of all administration activities within the School. She engages positively both with administrative and academic staff to ensure the smooth operation of School’s daily activities.

Mrs Lyimo holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology from University of Dar es Salaam in 2002. She also has a Master of Arts degree in Development Studies from the same University. Further, in 2006, she received a Certificate in International Development Studies from Oslo University, Norway.

Mrs Lyimo may be contacted at:

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

     Published Article

Mrs Lyimo has the following publication

Mr Patson Gabriel 

Senior Administrative Officer

Patson Gabriel


Other Offices under the Dean’s Office

There are several other offices which assist the Dean in his day to day activities. These offices are;

The Examination Office 

The Office of the Coordinator of Undergraduate Studies

The Office of the Coordinator of Postgraduate Studies

The Office of the Timetable Coordinator